QuickTip #2

Posted: April 12, 2010 in Training

Perform low rep warm ups. People often make the mistake of performing warm ups with 10-15 reps at a really light weight. This just releases lactic acid which impairs the recruitment of high threshold motor units (i.e. strength fibers). Perform 3-6 warm up sets, working down from 6 reps to 1.

Example:

1×6 @ 50%

1×5 @ 60%

1×4 @ 70%

1×2 @ 80%

1×1 @ 90%

Do this for the first exercise of each cold muscle group. Percentages are based on weight of first work set.

For a full article on proper warm ups, see my full article

http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/berardi51.htm

Comments
  1. Chris says:

    Have you updated your methods since this article came out? Just curious.

  2. fitport says:

    That bodybuilding.com article is pretty old…but for the most part I use the same warm up protocol, at least for “specific warm ups”. General warm ups have changed a bit more.

    However, it’s always adjusted based on how I’m feeling that day (or the client). Sometimes if I’m doing something like heavy wave loading and I’m not feeling strong yet, I’ll keep doing progressively heavier singles for a total of 6-8 warm up sets. I like to use the first warm up set at 50% to gauge how I’m feeling, I can usually tell right away if I’m going to need a longer warm up from how that feels. But always low rep. High rep warm ups are for dickheads.

Leave a Reply

